3059: Suicide Prevention Training

The following employees are required to complete at least one hour of suicide awareness and prevention training every year:

  • school nurses
  • teachers
  • counselors
  • school psychologists
  • administrators
  • school social workers
  • community coaches
  • paraeducators
  • bus drivers
  • kitchen staff
  • custodians
  • secretarial and clerical staff

These employees must complete the online training provided by the Nebraska Department of Education no later than October 31 of each school year or within 30 days of their initial employment. Failure to complete this training shall constitute just cause for the termination or nonrenewal of an employee’s contract.

The ESU 4 administrative assistants, business manager, and other employment positions that do not have direct contact with a school district or NCECBVI (Nebraska Center for the Education of Children who are Blind or Visually Impaired) students are not required to complete this training. The ESU 4 administrator and his or her designee will make the final determination of whether or not an employee must complete the training.

Adopted on: December 10, 2018
Revised on: _________________________
Reviewed on: June 13, 2022